Skip to content

I am a Nurse

December 8, 2011

I recently traveled to New Jersey  to help my grandparents host a holiday party. Many of their long-time friends attended and I was the only attendee under the age of 50. The guests had a field day asking me about my life and what I planned to do in the future, and how my brother and sister were doing, and etc, and etc, and etc. In between setting up the food and handing out beverages to the 25 or so guests, one woman whom I’ve known since birth said to me, “Are you the one who works on that television show?” Trying not to sound annoyed and come across as rude, I politely said, “nope, that would be my older sister.” The guest then said to me, “Oh… [pause]…what do you do then?” “I am a nurse” I replied forcing a smile. The woman looked confused, her eyebrows slanted upwards as her mouth cocked to the side and she said, “A nurse? [pause] Oh [pause] I see.” “Yes” I proclaimed. “I love nursing, it’s an amazing profession and I’ve learned so much” I said trying not to show how annoyed I felt. I was about to launch into my spiel about how nursing is (often) a completely understated profession, but remembered I was speaking with an older lady who truly didn’t mean anything by what she said.  Instead, I chose to explain what my job description entails and what kind of patients I care for. After explaining what I do in the hospital the woman looked at me and said, “I didn’t realize nurses are responsible for so much!” Aha! Case in point!

This scenario turned out to be the perfect opportunity to tell people what nurses do! I realized that if I wanted to continue to raise awareness towards the nursing profession, in addition to the blogging, I must spread the word in “real” life too! Maybe next time I run into the woman from the party at another family function she will ask with interest, “how is work going at the hospital?”

Stay tuned for more entries!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Elyn permalink
    December 9, 2011 3:24 am

    I love that, I’ll bet you get that comment alot, “are you the one?” what a terrific writer you are

  2. December 9, 2011 1:56 pm

    I’m trying to decide if your a better nurse or a better writer. Well done!

  3. Sheila permalink
    December 9, 2011 1:56 pm

    This is a great blog, and good for you to take pride in nursing and help others to understand what we do and how important nurses are to national health.

    The IOM report, “The Future of Nursing: Leading Change, Advancing Health” talks about how nursing represents the largest segment of the healthcare workforce. The objective is that nursing can have such a huge impact on healthcare and there is a push to improve and transform the nursing profession. Maybe your relative didn’t realize the strengths and potential of the profession b/c we haven’t been well represented.
    Your blog is a great way to help people understand our profession and bring together nurses to discuss these issues. Keep writing!s

    • December 9, 2011 2:03 pm

      Thanks for the info! In up and coming posts I plan to use articles to back up my thoughts! This is a great start. Thanks for the complements everyone!!!

Leave a Reply

