Skip to content

Not Only a Nurse

May 30, 2013

This post won’t have a lot to do with nursing. In fact, it’s been ages since I’ve blogged and lately I’ve been writing less and less about nursing and more and more about mountain biking, running and yoga in my private journal. Then it dawned on me to write about these adventures on my blog because, not only am I a nurse, I am a nurse who mountain bikes, runs and practices yoga, therefore these adventures truly are Talesofanrn.

For those of you who actually read my blog and for those readers who are nurses, you already know how important it is to get outside, to breathe fresh air, to get exercise. 12 hours spent inside a large, brick building, beneath fluorescent lights, breathing in thick, stuffy and often smelly air certainly feels detrimental to one’s health. For me, after 12 hours spent caring for others, I feel like my mental and physical energy has literally been sucked out of every orifice of my body into an abyss far, far away from myself. For those of you who aren’t nurses you may be thinking, “but you only work 3 shifts per week.” That may be so, but 3-shifts in a hospital is comparable to a full week of work. Please do not misunderstand the above statement to mean I dislike my career as a nurse; I love being a nurse. I take pride in my ability to empathize with patients and to imagine they are my relative. Unfortunately that method of nursing takes its toll on the mind and body as it forces you to feel more emotionally connected to your patients.  I wouldn’t change how I do it because becoming a robot, and going through the motions is far worse.

Mountain biking, running and practicing yoga helps me to rejuvenate my mind, body and soul in order to return to work each week. If I remind myself that I am not only a nurse, I am an athlete; I feel strong, mentally and physically. When the going gets tough at work, or in life I repeat the following mantra, “I am strong, I can do this, I will do this. I will make it.” This mantra helped me through a tough time recently when my father was struggling with a health scare. All we can do is keep on keepin’ on, moving forward, and enjoying life.

Thanks for reading this stream of consciousness and please read my next entry about the 2013 Marathon!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Elyn permalink
    May 30, 2013 5:08 pm

    Very inspiring!

  2. May 31, 2013 9:17 am

    Thanks for a great blog Lili. Your “Authentic Self” comes through loud and clear regardless of what it is you’re doing at any given moment. Interestingly, yoga means to yoke together. Bringing All the pieces of ourselves together as one. Amazingly, this discovery of our “Self” never ends.
    Thanks for all your effort Lili. Your true genuineness is so easy to love.

Leave a Reply

